2016 Prize winners

A fantastic night was had on Sat 30th August 2016 with the celebrations of a successful year for the club on and off the field.

And what a season it was too. 5 teams in the Taranaki semi-finals, 2 teams in the finals, 2 teams Taranaki Champions. Southern Junior teams performed well also.

Those who attended, got to hear extreme ultra distance athlete Lisa Tamati speak. One amazing lady.

Her strength is her top two inches and her message…

“Don’t let your age, body shape, or lack of talent get in the way of what you want to achieve… if you put your mind to it and work hard, you can overcome all obstacles and reach those goals. Don’t listen to people who say you can’t do it, listen to those who give support and say you can…”

Lisa Tamati speaking at the Southern 2016 prizegiving dinner

Best Rugby Club in Taranaki

This video was shown on the night celebrating the success of 2016.

Here are the prize winners for 2016;

(Click on an image for larger view and description)

Full list here;

Steve Gray/White Hart Division 2
Most Improved – Sheveal Ngeru
Thomas Cup MVP – Ezra Canterbury

L Nuova Apparelmaster Colts
Norm Bell Cup – Most Improved – Brodie Wilson
MVP – Keani Broughton
Life Members Cup – Most Promising – Brendon Mobbs

Power Farming Division 1
Frank Norgate Cup – Most Improved – Maxwell Lumb
Bruce Douglas memorial – MVP – Caleb Symes
Div 1 Team Best Forward – Kevin Ryan
Div 1 Team Best Back – Te Kepa Grindlay

Robertsons Pharmacy Premiers
Walker Family Cup Most Improved – Brody Norris
Eddie Bourke Cup MVP – Trent Pickering

Dunlop cup Best aggregate team points (points difference)
Colts 455
(Div 1 308,  3rds 102,  Premiers -19)

Most resilient Team
Division 2 – Away games, knocked over Okaiawa, against all odds made the semi finals

Billy Rowe memorial cup – Most team points on the table
Div 1 55 points

Eddie Bourke Cup – Most points by player
Daniel Brooks and Shem TeNgahue 118 points
(Daniel Lord 107,  Caleb Symes 94)

Most Tries
Daniel Lord 21
(Keani Broughton 16, Aaron Southcombe 10, Jade Taylor 9, Trinity Spooner Neera 7)

Anti Violence Awards
Colts – Michael Tosland
Div 2 – Roger Schrader
Div 1 – Kody Murdoch
Premiers – Daniel Brooks

Players Player
Colts -Thomas Cowling
Div 2 -Kerry Fowler
Div 1 -Cameron Rowse
Premiers – Jon Smyth

Ali Shaw Memorial Players Player Trophy
Kerry Fowler

Club Member/Supporter of the Year
Laurence Houghton

McLeod Family Trophy – Outstanding contribution to team and club
Craig ODea

Comments are closed.